*** THIS BROWSER DOES NOT SUPPORT THE CANVAS ELEMENT ***

Ken MacLeod

On This Day: Iain M. Banks

On this day in 1954, Iain Menzies Banks was born in Dunfermline, Scotland. Do we need to explain who Iain M. Banks is? No, we do not. For many years he was Britain’s bestselling SF […]

Read More
Related Categories: Anniversaries, Authors, Commentary

On This Day: Walter M. Miller, Jr. Died

On this day, in 1996, the body of Walter M. Miller, Jr was discovered, at his home in Florida (according to The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction; other sources place the date earlier). He took his […]

Read More
Related Categories: Anniversaries, Authors, Masterworks

SF Masterworks Spotlight: Feersum Endjinn

As teased not long ago, we’re delighted to welcome Britain’s bestselling SF author of the last two decades to the SF Masterworks list!  On 14th April we published a hardback edition of the BSFA Award-winning […]

Read More
Related Categories: Masterworks, New Releases

Welcome to the Gateway, Ken MacLeod!

Continuing our series of spotlights on authors who have joined us following our recent integration of classic SFF titles from across the Hachette Group of publishers, Gateway is delighted to welcome the BSFA and Prometheus […]

Read More
Related Categories: Authors, New Releases, SF Gateway News
Related Tags: , ,

SF Masterworks Spotlight: Hard to be a God

Another SF Masterwork from the giants of Soviet science fiction, Arkady and Boris Strugatsky, authors of the cult classic Roadside Picnic, filmed by Andrei Tarkovsky as Stalker. Anton is an undercover operative from future Earth, […]

Read More
Related Categories: Authors, Masterworks, New Releases

On This Day: Iain M. Banks

On this day in 1954, Iain Menzies Banks was born in Dunfermline, Scotland. Do we need to explain who Iain M. Banks is? No, we do not. For many years he was Britain’s bestselling SF […]

Read More
Related Categories: Authors, Commentary

A (New Yorker) Canticle for Leibowitz

The excellent Charlie Panayiotou, film, manga and anime maven and Gollancz editor wrangler extraordinaire draws our attention to an excellent appreciation of Walter M. Miller Jr’s Hugo Award-winning classic A Canticle for Leibowitz in The […]

Read More
Related Categories: Commentary, Reviews

SFX Book Club: A Case of Conscience

WARNING: TENUOUS LINK APPROACHING! In the wake of the recent historic referendum on Scottish independence, we thought it only appropriate to consult a Scottish SF writer about a pivotal science fictional decision. So, without further […]

Read More
Related Categories: Commentary, SFX Book Club

On This Day: John Brunner

HIPCRIME: You committed one when you opened this book. Keep it up. It’s our only hope. ~ The Hipcrime Vocab by Chad Mulligan COINCIDENCE: You weren’t paying attention to the other half of what was […]

Read More
Related Categories: Authors

SF Masterwork of the Week: Blood Music

This week’s SF Masterwork of the Week, Greg Bear’s Blood Music is, among many other things, one of the earliest – and still one of the finest – exemplars of biopunk. To introduce you to this […]

Read More

SF Masterwork of the Week: A Case of Conscience

Our current Masterwork of the Week is James Blish’s seminal treatment of religion in SF, A Case of Conscience, which we are delighted to be publishing with a new introduction by Ken MacLeod, which is […]

Read More
Related Categories: Masterworks, New Releases

SF Masterwork of the Week: Half Past Human

  A novel of dystopian future in the tradition of Soylent Green and H.G. Wells’ The Time Machine. Tinker was a good citizen of the Hive – a model worker. But when he was allowed […]

Read More
Related Categories: Authors, Masterworks, New Releases

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.