SF Gateway: the BSFA Award-winners

With the 65th Eastercon just round the corner and with it the presentation of the BSFA Awards, we thought it appropriate to take a look over the history of the award and see how many of our titles have won the award since it was relaunched in its current form in 1970. And we’re glad we did because it was a very pleasant surprise to find that the answer – if one counts Gollancz books as well as SF Gateway books – is ‘almost all of them’!

A staggering 33 of the 43 winners to date are published by Gollancz or SF Gateway. Some have always been Gollancz titles, while others were first published by other imprints but are Gollancz or SF Gateway now. Take a look . . .

SF Gateway:

1970 Stand on Zanzibar, John Brunner
1971 The Jagged Orbit, John Brunner
1974 Rendezvous with Rama, Arthur C. Clarke
1975 Inverted World, Christopher Priest
1976 Orbitsville, Bob Shaw
1977 Brontomek!, Michael G. Coney
1978 The Jonah Kit, Ian Watson
1979 A Scanner Darkly, Philip K. Dick
1981 Timescape, Gregory Benford
1982 The Shadow of the Torturer, Gene Wolfe
1983 Helliconia Spring, Brian W. Aldiss
1984 Tik-Tok, John Sladek
1985 Mythago Wood, Robert Holdstock
1986 Helliconia Winter, Brian W. Aldiss
1987 The Ragged Astronauts, Bob Shaw
1988 Gráinne, Keith Roberts
1989 Lavondyss, Robert Holdstock
1991 Take Back Plenty, Colin Greenland
1992 The Fall of Hyperion, Dan Simmons
1994 Aztec Century, Christopher Evans
1999 The Extremes, Christopher Priest
2001 Ash: A Secret History, Mary Gentle
2003 The Separation, Christopher Priest


1990 Pyramids, Terry Pratchett
2002 Chasm City, Alastair Reynolds
2004 Felaheen: The Third Arabesk, Jon Courtenay Grimwood
2005 River of Gods, Ian McDonald
2006 Air, Geoff Ryman
2007 End of the World Blues, Jon Courtenay Grimwood
2008 Brasyl, Ian McDonald
2011 The Dervish House, Ian McDonald
2012 The Islanders, Christopher Priest
2013 Jack Glass, Adam Roberts

Um . . . wow.