John Brunner

5 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


John Brunner (1934-1995)
John Kilian Houston Brunner was a prolific British SF writer. In 1951, he published his first novel, Galactic Storm, at the age of just 17, and went on to write dozens of novels under his own and various house names until his death in 1995 at the Glasgow Worldcon. He won the Hugo Award and the British Science Fiction Award for Stand on Zanzibar (a regular contender for the 'best SF novel of all time') and the British Science Fiction Award for The Jagged Orbit.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with John Brunner? Gateway recommends beginning with the SF Masterworks - which have been selected to showcase the greatest works of modern science fiction - and then moving on to the Gateway Essentials . . .


Stand on Zanzibar (1968)



times_without_number_140px telepathist_140px jagged_orbit_the_140px shockwave_rider_the_140px -compleat-_traveller_in_black_the_140px
Times Without Number (1962) Telepathist (1964) The Jagged Orbit (1969) The Shockwave Rider (1975) The (Compleat) Traveller in Black (1986)

View all books by John Brunner