Bob Shaw

9 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Bob Shaw (1931 - 1996)
Bob Shaw was born in Belfast in 1931. After working in engineering, aircraft design and journalism he became a full time writer in 1975. Among his novels are Orbitsville, A Wreath of Stars, The Ragged Astronauts and his best-known work Other Days, Other Eyes, based on the Nebula Award-nominated 'Light of Other Days', the story that made his reputation. Although his SF novels and stories were for the most part serious, Shaw was well-known in fannish circles for his sense of humour, and his witty 'Serious Scientific Talks' were a favourite of attendees at Eastercons. Bob Shaw won two Hugos and three BSFA Awards. He died in 1996.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Orbitsville (1975)
Orbitsville Book One

A Wreath of Stars (1976)

Who Goes Here? (1977)

The Ragged Astronauts (1986)
Land and Overland Book One    

Bob Shaw SF Gateway Omnibus (2013)

View all books by Bob Shaw