SF Gateway & Gollancz: the British Fantasy Award-Winners

Well, we certainly do seem to be getting through the awards calendar, don’t we?  No sooner do we bid farewell to the Hugos for another year than the British Fantasy Awards begin to loom large in our future. Gollancz is delighted to have two authors shortlisted for the best novel awards*, this year: Joe Hill for NOS4R2 and Graham Joyce for The Year of the Ladybird. Best of luck to both – we have our fingers crossed for a tie!

So how have we fared in previous awards? We’re glad you asked . . .

1972 The Knight of the Swords, Michael Moorcock
1973 The King of the Swords, Michael Moorcock
1974 Hrolf Kraki’s Saga, Poul Anderson
1975 The Sword and the Stallion, Michael Moorcock
1976 The Hollow Lands, Michael Moorcock
1977 The Dragon and the George, Gordon R. Dickson
1979 The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever (comprising Lord Foul’s Bane, The Illearth War and The Power that Preserves), Stephen R. Donaldson
1983 The Sword of the Lictor, Gene Wolfe
1997 The Tooth Fairy, Graham Joyce
2009 Memoirs of a Master Forger, Graham Joyce
2013 Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce

Eleven out of forty-four. Not quite as high a percentage as some other awards, but a quarter of the prizes is still worth crowing about.

Next: we fall over and try to forget about awards until next year . . .

* As of 2013, the best novel award split into two: The August Derleth Award for best horror novel and the Robert Holdstock Award for best fantasy novel.