Gateway Essentials: Connie Willis

Eleven Hugo Awards! Three for Best Novel, four for Best Novella, one for Best Novelette and three for Best Short Story.

Seven Nebula Awards! Two for Best Novel, one for Best Novella, two for Best Novelette and two for Best Short Story.

A John W. Campbell Memorial Award.

Twelve Locus Awards.

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame.

SFWA Grand Master.

The Robert A. Heinlein Award.

Such a roll call of prizes can only mean one thing: we’re talking about Connie Willis!

Connie Willis is an award-collecting machine!  From her first nomination in 1980 – for the Hugo Award, with the short story ‘Daisy, in the Sun’ – to her historical double triumph with Blackout/All Clear in 2011, which saw her become only the fifth author to win the Hugo and Nebula Awards for the same novel on two separate occasions (bonus points for naming the other four!), Connie Willis has been a regular feature on award shortlists.

In addition to being one of SF’s most accomplished and respected authors, Connie Willis is also much loved for her witty and erudite speeches. Not since Bob Shaw has there been an author whose speeches are anticipated every bit as keenly as their books.

And we are lucky enough to publish three of her books in the SF Masterworks series: Doomsday Book, To Say Nothing of the Dog and the the collection of award-winning short fiction,  Time is the Fire. We heartily recommend them all.


And once you’ve read those, if you want to explore the worlds of Connie Willis (and we’re confident you will), your next port of call should be the Gateway Essentials:

Fire Watch Passage


You can find more of Connie Willis’s work via her Author page on the Gateway website, and read about her in her entry in The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction.