New Title Spotlight: Nine Hundred Grandmothers

Raphael Aloysius Lafferty was born in Neola, Iowa in 1914 and died in 2002. His first publication of genre interest was ‘Day of the Glacier’ in the January 1960 edition of Science Fiction Stories. Over the course of his writing career, Lafferty produced thirty-two novels and more than two hundred short stories.

Nine Hundred Grandmothers, originally published in 1970, collects twenty-one of them, including ‘Slow Tuesday Night’ and ‘In Our Block’, both of which were shortlisted for the Nebula Award.

Nine Hundred Grandmothers
Land of the Great Horses
Ginny Wrapped in the Sun
The Six Fingers of Time
Frog on the Mountain
All the People
Primary Education of the Camiroi
Slow Tuesday Night
Thus We Frustrate Charlemagne
Name of the Snake
Narrow Valley
Polity and Custom of the Camiroi
In Our Block
Hog-Belly Honey
Seven Day Terror
The Hole on the Corner
What’s the Name of that Town
Through Other Eyes
One at a Time
Guesting Time

You can find more of R. A. Lafferty’s work via his Author page on the Gateway website and read about him in his entry in The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction.