*** THIS BROWSER DOES NOT SUPPORT THE CANVAS ELEMENT ***

Search Results for: mars

Showing 1-15 of 116 results

Destination Mars

Destination Mars

An expedition to Mars is decided on and Chris, Serge, Morrey and Tony are chosen to man it. Unlike their expedition to Venus, this is not a desperate last-minute venture; it is a sober, carefully planned affair. Chris and his friends have no reason to expect anything beyond the normal risks of space travel – except for the experiences of the Dutchman Van der Veen. He is the only man who has ever penetrated beyond the Le Prince layer, which blots out radio communication with the earth – and he returned in a state of mental collapse. When he hears of the new expedition he has another breakdown, and when at last he is able to describe his experiences he speaks of strange and terrifying voices that assailed him in outer space.

Will Chris and his friends also here these voices, and what will they find on Mars?
Murder on Mars

Murder on Mars

Morrey, Serge and Tony are sent to Mars to investigate the murder of William Baines, an electronics specialist who has been found dead in a crater. There are more than a hundred people working in Mars city, and at first the astrotecs, as Commander Morrison calls them, see no reason to suspect one more than another. However, investigations on the spot soon narrow down the field to a few suspects, and gradually all the clues begin to point in one direction. Morrey and Serge are sure that the case is solved, but Tony still has doubts, and he decides on an independent – and dangerous – piece of detective work.
The Magician of Mars

The Magician of Mars

His real name is Ul Quorn, but he is known throughout the Solar System as the Magician of Mars. With sheer scientific mastery and cunning he once terrorised the entire population of all nine planets – until Captain Future put an end to his evil deeds.

Now Ul Quorn has broken loose from the escape-proof Interplanetary Prison – a feat that was believed impossible. His plan to obtain wealth and power is more ingenious than ever before and more deadly to the System.

Soon he will be master of the Universe. But first he must settle a score with Captain Future…
Gulliver of Mars

Gulliver of Mars

Lieutenant Gulliver Jones, U.S.N., arrived on Mars in a most unexpected fashion and promptly found himself head-over-heels in adventure. For Mars was a planet of ruined cities, ancient peoples, copper-skinned swordsmen, and weird and awesome monsters. There was a princess to be rescued, a River of Death to be navigated, and a strange prophecy to be fulfilled.
Emperor of Mars

Emperor of Mars

Snatched to Mars, captive of a flying saucer, Clayton Drew smashes his way through the forces of evil! In the grand tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Emperor of Mars is the first volume of the Clayton Drew Quartet.
Warrior of Mars

Warrior of Mars

Earthman Clayton Drew battles against the Martian Warlords who would destroy the world. In the grand tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Warrior of Mars is the second installment in the Clayton Drew quartet.
Goddess of Mars

Goddess of Mars

Drew and Princess Thalia conclusively defeat the evil warlord Lexas, foiling his plan to transfer his brain into her body. In the grand tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Goddess of Mars is the final volume of the Clayton Drew Quartet.
Warriors of Mars

Warriors of Mars

Brilliant physicist and warrior Michael Kane’s experiments in matter transmission catapult him across space and time to the verdant and war-torn Mars of the distant past. There he meets the beautiful Princess Shizala and learns the ways of her people, the Kamala, and of their war with the Argzoon. Swept up in their civil war, with Kane win the day, and the heart of the Princess?

The creator of Elric of Melniboné, Michael Moorcock remains one of the most honored science fiction and fantasy authors of all time. Moorcock’s Eternal Champion makes his debut in book one of the Warrior of Mars series.
Blades of Mars

Blades of Mars

That first visit to Mars had been a mistake. A miraculous journey out through the myriad miles of space and back, back through the millennia to a time before Man existed, it had been the chance result of a small-scale malfunction in an experimental matter transfer machine.
But Michael Kane’s first great adventure in a world where great mythic armies battled, where hugely bizarre creatures roamed and deeds of high heroism and dark treachery resounded, was but the start. For as he learned to control and use the machinery, he was to return to Mars again and again.
The second volume of the Martian adventures of Michael Kane, of the proud Princess Shizala, her warrior brother and the darkly beautiful but evil Horguhl, as book two of the Warrior of Mars series is available in ebook for the first time!
Barbarians of Mars

Barbarians of Mars

Michael Moorcock’s Eternal Champion returns in the form of Michael Kane, a brilliant Earthman stranded on the treacherous deserts of Ancient Mars! In this sweeping, epic sword-and-planet adventure in the tradition of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Kane and his blue giant companion Hool Haji must travel to the far reaches of the Red Planet to halt the hideous Green Death, an unstoppable disease that rots the mind as well as the body. From gorgeous Karnala, City of Green Mists, to the empty streets of tainted Cend-Amrid to the forgotten weird-science laboratories of the lost, highly advanced Yaksha culture, Masters of the Pit promises stunning locales, disgusting Martian creatures, and relentless action from the Nebula and World Fantasy Award-winning creator of Elric of Melniboné! Enjoy book three of the Warrior of Mars series in ebook for the first time!
Welcome To Mars

Welcome To Mars

Dolph Haertel had made history. An incredible anti-gravity discovery, made entirely through his own efforts, had put him miles ahead of the professionals in the space race – and now he was setting off to prove his theories by travelling alone to Mars!

The journey went perfectly – until Dolph actually landed on the Red Planet. There, he discovered a fault in his ship that couldn’t be repaired without a vital – and missing – spare part. And Dolph Haertel, first Martian explorer, was marooned. His situation was critical. And his only hope lay with the one person to whom he had confided his secret of space travel. But would that person be able to find him in time . . . ?
Journey to Mars

Journey to Mars

All Verrill wanted to do was to get to Mars, to Port Mercham where a ship was getting ready to take the Big Jump to the stars. But he was stranded on Venus, without money, papers, or weapons, with nothing but a keep-sake between him and starvation and the revengeful fury of the powerful Brotherhoods – and charity was a forgotten word.

How, with foreign papers, he fought and won the right to a berth, discovered a subtle plot to smuggle narcotics and defeated a mutiny. How he fought a desperate battle with the menace of the Sun and escaped from Mercury, and how, at last, he managed to reach his objective, make a story of high adventure.

This is a fast-moving, hard-hitting tale of the future, of rocket ships and the men who guide them across the wastes of space, of the perils and dangers waiting at every turn. A story which paints bright colours across the pages of unwritten history, and brings to life the lives of those yet unborn.
Sleepers of Mars

Sleepers of Mars

Stories from the darkness of space, and the planets around us . . .

This collection of short stories from legendary author John Wyndham takes us around the planets around Earth and the civilisations which might exist there. Is it as simple as Us vs Them, or are there things that humans do not understand yet?

This collection contains:
– Sleepers of Mars
– Worlds to Barter
– Invisible Monster
– The Man from Earth
– The Third Vibrator
Return to Mars

Return to Mars

Tiger Clinton, Rex and the Professor are back!

In the new, bigger Spacemaster II, and with experience under their belt from before, they’re ready to tackle whatever the stars have to throw at them. First stop: Mars.

When previously they had found the remains of a civilisation and desolation, this time they find a man – alive, but desperately ill. Can they save him? And can he tell what happened to the Martian cities that lie in ruins around them?

Captain W.E. Johns continues his adventures in space with book two of the Tiger Clinton series, a roaring pulp SF romp, perfect for fans of Star Trek and vintage science fiction!
Stories of Mars

Stories of Mars

John Carter, veteran of the American Civil War, finds himself transported from Arizona to Mars when hiding from attackers in a secret cave. The inhabitants greet him, referring to the planet as Barsoom, and Carter finds that he has superhuman strength and agility due to the different gravity of this new world.

After joining the nomadic tribe of green, six-limbed Martians called Tharks, he rises through the ranks and earns the respect and friendship of one of the chiefs. Until, that is, the Tharks capture Dejah Thoris, Princess of Helium and a member of the red, humanoid Martians. Rescuing Dejah Thoris, Carter attempts to return her to her people, finding himself at the centre of a conflict that reaches across Martian society, all while falling in love. Can he save Barsoom? What of Earth? Does he want to return, or would he rather stay with Dejah Thoris?

A Princess of Mars was first serialised in 1912, and to celebrate its centenary we have collected it and its two sequels – The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars – in this beautiful Golden Age Masterwork.
Filter by +
  • New Releases
  • Coming Soon
  • Fred Hoyle's World of Science Fiction
  • Gateway Essentials
  • Golden Age Masterworks
  • HAERTEL SCHOLIUM
  • Kemlo
  • S.F. MASTERWORKS
  • The Clayton Drew Series