Ursula K. LeGuin

Link to Author site

2 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Ursula K. Le Guin (1929 - )

Ursula K. Le Guin is one of the finest writers of our time. Her books have attracted millions of devoted readers and won many awards, including the National Book Award, the Hugo and Nebula Awards and a Newbery Honor. Among her novels, The Left Hand of Darkness, The Dispossessed and the six books of Earthsea have attained undisputed classic status; and her recent series, the Annals of the Western Shore, has won her the PEN Center USA Children's literature award and the Nebula Award for best novel. In 2014 Ursula Le Guin was awarded the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. She lives in Portland, Oregon.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

A Wizard of Earthsea (1968)
The First Book of Earthsea

The Left Hand of Darkness (1969)

The Lathe of Heaven (1971)

The Dispossessed (1974)

The Word for World is Forest (1976)

View all books by Ursula K. LeGuin